My 2013 in pictures

I have always loved taking pictures – it’s the perfect way to capture a memory and go back to it whenever you want! There’s a trend on twitter at the moment – #2013InPictures. Of course I put up my 12 pictures straight away but 140 characters isn’t enough to explain why I chose that particular photo – hence this blog post! It’s just a little summary of my 2013, you can read as much or as little as you want and, as always, please feel free to leave a comment!

January –  Oliver Tompsett as Galileo

Two days into 2013 was the first time I ever saw Oliver Tompsett as Galileo in We Will Rock You (read the blog here.) I dragged my friend Mel along for the ride, and it was the perfect way to start the year. I’d seen Mr Tompsett on stage before as Drew Boley in Rock of Ages, but nevertheless, I was blown away by his talent, his chemistry with Rachael Wooding and, as always, by how generous he was with his time at the Stage Door. This was the first of a whopping fourteen visits to the Dominion in 2013, and every time I enjoyed myself more than the time before. Bring on the next 14 in 2014!!

Image

February – Tenerife

Not very stagey I know, but it definitely warmed up my February!

Image

March – The first time I talked to Nathan Amzi at the Stage Door.

This was a VERY big deal. After months and months (16 to be precise) of hiding in the shadows at the Stage Door and only talking via twitter, I finally plucked up the courage to talk to Nathan face-to-face. This was a huge turning point for me in terms of my own self-confidence, and I am so glad that I managed to get out a (very) few words, because in the months that followed I have gotten to know an absolutely wonderful person who really has helped me through the last two and a half years.

Image

April – Egg Ross

April was a hard one – I have so many amazing memories from that month but I came across this picture and I couldn’t stop laughing. This was the moment that me and Lucy found an egg version of Ross Hunter in Covent Garden. He’d put up a picture of himself next to the egg on twitter and the resemblance was uncanny, so me and Lucy made it our mission to go and find it. The memory of the two of us running around Covent Garden shouting “Egg Ross! Where are you?!” never fails to make me laugh!

Image

May – Meat Loaf

This one was easy. I’ve already blogged about this Meat Loaf concert (click here to have a read) so I won’t go over it again, but May was the month I met Meat Loaf – how could anything else even come close?!

Image

June – Meeting Nathan James

I fell in love with Nathan James in a bar in Lanzarote where I saw him audition for The Voice. I very nearly threw my cocktail at the TV when nobody turned around, and I didn’t get to watch his Superstar run because I was in Florida, so Bohemian Rhapsody was a Godsend. I was slap bang in the middle of the second row so I had to control my fangirling in case a) he saw or b) I was carted out of the theatre in a straitjacket. I’d heard he was doing a CD signing after the show, and when I saw him stood in the reception area I damn near ran away because I was so nervous, but luckily my friend Lauren dragged me over and I just about got out my name. But I did get a cuddle!

Image

July – My Dad’s wedding

Again, not very stagey but it is a day I never thought I’d see. I’ve had quite a rocky relationship with my Dad, so if you’d have told me at the start of the year that I’d not only be a bridesmaid for his bride-to-be but that I would also have one of the best days of my life I would have laughed in your face. I am so glad it happened because it’s brought me closer to my Dad than I have ever been in my life and it was a day I can treasure for the rest of my life.

Image

August – My 10th tattoo

A tattoo very close to my heart, this is a constant reminder to “follow my dreams.”

Image

September – A very stagey weekend.

This was to celebrate the 21st birthday of my best friend Sarah, who I only met in March. Also with us was our good friend Tanja, who we only met in person in July. Despite this, we are closer than I ever thought possible and I have no idea where I would be without both of these amazing ladies. We were all in the same place at the same time and enjoyed three shows in two days together, and it involved “sneakily” passing alcohol around the table, understudy central at Rock of Ages, big badges, biscuit tin lids and a whole lot of laughter!

Image

October – Brian May

Wow. Just wow. There are few sights as impressive as Brian May rising up from a trapdoor in the middle of the stage, surrounded by smoke and playing Bohemian Rhapsody on the guitar, but this is what I was lucky enough to witness from the front row of the stalls at the Dominion Theatre. Not only that, but I had the priviledge of meeting this incredible man at the Stage Door, and he is the perfect gentleman. (Read the full blog here)

Image

November – Maxwell Caulfield

Again, I’ve already blogged about this day here but nevertheless it’s definitely the highlight of my November. After a particularly crappy start to the month including the Last Ever Rock of Ages, I had the ultimate pick-me-up in the form of Maxwell Caulfield. I fell in love with this man 10 years ago when he played Dr Jim Brodie on Casualty. I cried for days over his fictional death, so I was very happy to discover that he was going to be in the production of Singin’ in the Rain that I already had tickets for. They say never meet your heroes but he was everything I had hoped he would be and more and it definitely cheered me up.

Image

December – Frozen

Yes I know I am nineteen years old but you are NEVER too old for a Disney movie, and anyway this film is amazing. I originally went to see it because Idina Menzel would be voicing Queen Elsa, and I am so ridiculously glad I did. Finally – a Disney Princess with balls! Instead of falling to pieces when her Prince Charming turned out to be a total idiot, Elsa’s sister Anna saved Elsa’s life and punched her ex-beau in the face. I actually cheered when she did that. As well as that there’s an adorable little snowman who just wants to see the Summer. All in all, a bloody brilliant film that I will be buying the second it comes out on DVD!

Image

One thought on “My 2013 in pictures

Leave a Reply

