Stage Door Project

I absolutely love going to the stage door after a show – for me it’s all part of the experience. I have an album full of my stage door pictures and I started up this project to see the stage door pictures that mean the most to you. Below are the people who were kind enough to share their photos with me and I want to say a huge huge thank you to each and every one of you!

Mark Johnson.

Mark is a fellow theatre lover who is running the Bupa 10,000K to raise money for the Curve Theatre in Leicester (click here to see his sponsor page and donate). He is also raising money via an auction of “stagey items” – to find out more click here.

Photo #1 – Rowan Atkinson. 

“I met Rowan by chance – I was in London seeing David Bedella perform a concert at the Leicester Square theatre. The concert finished early and I had time to wander around London before my train home to Leicester and, by chance, I ended up outside the Theatre Royal Drury Lane where Oliver! was playing. There was a big crowd outside the stage door and I wandered over to see what the fuss was about – it was Mr Rowan Atkinson, who was playing Fagin at the time. He was only signing programmes and things to do with the show so sadly I didn’t get his autograph, but I did get a photo. Unfortunately I had to take it myself and I barely got in it, but still, I’m there alongside one of the most incredible comedy actors of all time and I will cherish my luck for being there and meeting him, even though it’s not the best photo.”

Image

Photo #2 – David Bedella and Kara Lane.

“This picture is from the stage door at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane in Nottingham. I am with two of my favourite performers, David Bedella and Kara Lane, who were both in the Rocky Horror Picture Show (2009/10 UK Tour) playing Dr Frank-N-Furter and Magenta/Usherette respectively. I have followed their careers ever since and will continue to support them wherever possible. I am so happy I have them both together in a picture and they kindly both signed the picture which is now framed and up on my wall.”

Image

Photo #3 – Rachel Grundy and Maria Coyne.

“Another two ladies from the Rocky Horror Picture Show, this time from the 2012/13 40th Anniversary Tour. These ladies are undoubtedly two of the nicest and most down to earth people I’ve ever had the joy to meet, and they’re truly incredible on stage too. This picture is at the Curve, my local theatre here in Leicester and it was just a joy to meet them both and get them together for a photo. Both of them will go on to big things, and they deserve to.”

Image

 


 Marie Dubreuil.

Next up is the lovely Marie. She runs her own blog – “On My Way” and is one of those rare people who is just as beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside.

Photo #1 – Jamie Ward.

“The reason why this photo is one of my favourites is very probably because his interview has been the best I’ve ever done.
And maybe also because he’s such a lovely person :)”

Image


Sarah Holmes.

My lovely best friend who has come with me to more shows than I can remember – she’s usually the one taking my stage door pictures!

Photo #1 – Ross Hunter, 24.07.2013.

“This became one of my favourite photos as soon as it was taken. Alison and I had gone to see Rock of Ages with Tanja, our friend from Germany. Tanja has one of those giant cameras that needs focusing, lining up perfectly and getting into the right lighting – basically one of those huge complex things that I love, but I only have a little digital thing. Anyway, Tanja said to Ross she needed to do a test shot to make sure the camera was set up right for her picture with him. Poor Ross wondered what was going on! I was stood  there saying “just pose Ross it’s fine, just smile” and he’s stood there saying “but it’s just me!” Bless him. I solved that problem by jumping into the picture with him, resulting in this picture – it turns out Ross and I both thought the photo was brilliant. It’s quite possibly one of the best and it always brings back some very happy memories.”

Image

Photo #2 – John McLarnon and Mark Dugdale, 09.03.2014.

“These two are quite possibly the most perfect double act out there. I absolutely love them both to pieces and I think this photo what I love about them. There were quite a few of us there that day yet I always get picked on by Mark – we always have a laugh together that’s for sure. We all had our time with John and he was hanging back waiting for Mark. Before they both disappeared I asked them for a photo together and this was the result. There were some more but this is definitely my favourite. Because they are both taller than me they were talking over me saying what they were going to do – as it turns out, when you put them together you get a very amusing photo.”

Image

Photo #3 – Tim Howar, 31.08.2013.

“Anyone who knows me will know how much I love this man. I cannot put into words how much he has done for me – he always cheers me up whenever I need it no matter what, and if I need to talk to someone I can always rely on Tim. This picture was taken a few weeks after I had been talking to him because I was upset and it was nice to thank him in person. It was a day filled with plenty of Tim time and I finally got to meet his lovely other half Jodie Oliver and their adorable little puppy Rocky. All in all it was a very good day :)”

Image

 


 Jennifer McKinnon and Kira Etherington.

These two are completely inseparable – it doesn’t surprise me at all that they even sent in a joint picture!

Photo #1 – Nathan Amzi and Selina Hamilton.

“We love all of our stage door pictures, but this is our favourite one. It was taken on the last night of Rock Of Ages, and never fails to make us smile. The cast of Rock of Ages were all so lovely, but Nathan and Selina were both extra lovely to us, and to get a picture with both of them, as the show closed its doors, was something that was a bit extra special for us.”

Image


Olivia Edmonds.

Olivia is a treasured friend of mine who runs her own theatre blog, “Thoughts of a Blue-Eyed Girl.

Photo #1 – Tam Mutu, January 2013.

“Not only is this a picture where I actually look half decent, but, despite having several pictures with Tam, this one is particularly special as it was taken by Craig Mather! The three of us were the only ones left at Stage Door and Craig was more than happy to oblige :)”

Image

Photo #2 – Hadley Fraser, January 2014.

“The story behind this photo is what makes it special! Having not been able to get tickets to see Hadley in CORIOLANUS, I asked a friend, when we visited London in January, to show me where the Donmar Warehouse was – as I actually didn’t know! Little did I know that as we were about to walk away from the theatre now that I knew where it was, that we would actually bump into Hadley and end up chatting for ages! I think my smile says it all 🙂 “

Image

Photo #3 – Geronimo Rauch, October 2013.

“This was after the first time I had seen Geronimo as the Phantom. I had spent most of the evening crying so it’s probably better that there are shadows in this picture! I had such high expectations for him in this role and he totally obliterated them and then some! It was so lovely to see him absolutely beaming when talking about how much he is loving being behind the mask!!”

Image

 


 Abe Calimag.

Abe has to be one of the most dedicated theatre-goers I know. He lives in Virginia, USA and travels all around the world to see different shows – I met him at the last Rock of Ages show in London in November 2013.

Photo #1 – Janet Krupin, 18.08.2012.

Janet Krupin is literally my favorite person in the world. I have other photos with her that are “better pictures,” but I love this one because it was taken moments after we first met. After seeing Bring It On for the first time, I waited away from the stage door to let the crowd of 12-year-old cheerleaders have their way. As Janet made her way down the line, she’d say, “Hi, I’m Janet. What’s your name?” After chatting with everyone, signing Playbills, and taking pictures, she thanked them each by name. How could you not love her just for that? In addition to being a talented performer, Janet is such a warm, kind, and fun person to be around.”

Image

Photo #2 – Taylor Louderman, 20.10.2012.

Taylor Louderman is another one of my favorite people in the world. From the first time I saw her at Broadway in Bryant Park, I knew she’s a star. Shortly before this picture was taken, she told Playbill.com that the leading role she’s dying to play is Glinda in Wicked.  As we stood in front of the St. James talking after a show, someone walked by randomly blowing bubbles. The result is this serendipitous photo, which I take as an omen that someday soon, we’ll be seeing her at the Gershwin coming and going by a bubble of her own.”

Image
Photo #3 – Cristin Milioti, 19.08.2012.
“I love this photo not because I loved Cristin Milioti as Girl in Once, which I did, and not because she’s Ted Mosby’s baby-mama, which she is, but because through a quirk of fate and timing, her hand and the poster with Steve Kazee’s arm line up perfectly to create this creepily epic image.”
Image

Kerrie Nicholson.

Kerrie is a new-found friend of mine who runs her own theatre blog, “Confessions of a 20 Something.”
Photo #1 – Jon Boydon, Edd Post and Matt Nalton, 05.04.2014.
“This photo, with Jon Boydon (in the red), Edd Post (in the green) & new member of the cast Matt Nalton, was taken after seeing Jersey Boys a third time at its new home at the Piccaddily Theatre. The boys star as Tommy Devito, Bob Gaudio & Nick Massi respectively. Pure & simple: I adore this show, it’s my favourite. It gives me a buzz that that any other show has yet to equal, I get to the interval and want to rewind, and when it ends I’m already thinking: ‘when can I go again?’ They are great fun and lovely to talk to- I’ve met Jon & Edd before and it was lovely to finally meet a Nick Massi in Matt. It was excellent to meet the three of them together, usually it’s separately and minus whoever was playing Nick!
Image
Photo #2 – Hadley Fraser, 01.06.2013.
“This photo with Hadley Fraser was taken after seeing him as Sid Sorokin in The Pajama Game in Chichester.  I think THE WORLD of this man. He’s incredibly talented, introduced me to those I now feel are my closest friends and is just, quite simply, a pretty kick ass human being. He’s always so kind and thoughtful towards me and I treasure each experience I’ve had with him.
Image
Photo #3 – Julian Ovenden, 11.10.2012.
“I met Julian Ovenden at the Curve Theatre in Leicester after seeing Finding Neverland. This gorgeous musical was the first opportunity I’d had to see Julian perform live, and I was reminded constantly why I became a fan of his wonderful voice in the first place. He’s also incredibly charming – I think I embarrassed myself as got a little too excited when I saw him (literally sitting there with this huge grin on my face, almost bouncing in my chair in anticipation) but I don’t think he minded –  when he caught my eye he smiled and wandered straight over with a cheeky glint in his eye.”
Image

I absolutely could not resist putting my own three favourite pictures in!
Photo #1 – David Tennant, 13.08.2011.
My first ever stage door picture and isn’t it a beauty! I cringe every time I see this bloody photo. I was so ridiculously starstruck and I couldn’t get two words out when I met him, or for about an hour afterwards. He was so kind and tolerant and he even came back to check that the picture had turned out alright.
Image
Photo #2 – Ross Hunter, Dan Fletcher, Tim Howar, 04.11.2013.
Yep, I got photo-bombed. This was originally a nice, smiley picture with Ross Hunter, but then Dan Fletcher and Tim Howar came out of the stage door and quite literally dived in. I was on a crutch at the time for my bad hip and I very nearly got knocked over! I didn’t even see Dan behind me I was laughing at Tim, so you can imagine my surprise when I saw the final result!
Image
Photo #3 – Nathan Amzi, 02.11.2013
Of course my last picture is a picture with Nathan. It’s no secret just how much I adore this man – he is kind, generous, supportive, approachable… I could go on and on and on. This photo was taken after the last ever Rock of Ages show and, as soon as Nathan came over to us, I burst into tears at the thought of not seeing him again for an indefinite amount of time. Every time Nathan gives me a hug he picks me up, but as this was the last time I said “why is nobody taking a picture of this?!” and, to my surprise, he swept me clean off my feet! As you can see I had the biggest grin on my face as it was just so typical of Nathan to cheer me up and make me laugh when I was upset.
Image

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Stage Door Project

  1. Such a lovely article! Thanks so much sweetheart ❤
    I'm very moved by this
    … and thanks for sharing my pic 😉
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

