Restricted West End

Yes, it’s another project!

Whenever I go to book a ticket online I totally ignore the “restricted view” warnings. I would rather take my chances on the day – sometimes you can see perfectly and sometimes you’re practically hanging off the balcony to get a half-decent view (I speak from experience). Other people are a little more wary when it comes to these seats and this is where my idea came from.

I have booked to see seven West End shows over a two week period, and every single seat has a “restricted view” warning (except Wicked but intriguingly the seat next to it does). I will use my ninja camera skills to take a picture of the view from each seat and will upload these along with my usual theatre blog. I hope you will enjoy this project as much as I am sure I will enjoy researching it! (As the project progresses and the blogs are published the list will be linked to the corresponding posts.)

The seven shows are:

The CommitmentsPalace Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue.

Les MiserablesQueen’s Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue.

Blithe Spirit – Gielgud Theatre* Shaftesbury Avenue.

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels Savoy Theatre, Strand.

WickedApollo Victoria, Wilton Road.

Billy Elliot – Victoria Palace* Victoria Street.

Jersey Boys – Piccadilly Theatre* Denman Street.

(* venues I have not visited before.)

 

Image

8 thoughts on “Restricted West End

  1. I find the restricted view seats at Billy just a little too ‘restricting’ for my liking – not sure I would watch from them again. No bars or railings, but the stage is just so high I felt I was missing out on action and set at the back of the stage. To be honest, for the price though (considering it is a ‘front row’ seat), you can’t really complain!

    • I think i’m just going to wait and see as I’ve had a lot of different opinions on these seats – I figured if I could manage row BB at the Garrick then no stage will ever seem high again!

  2. Pingback: The Commitments – 13/05/2014 | Theatre Therapy

  3. Pingback: Les Miserables / Blithe Spirit – 14/05/2014 | Theatre Therapy

  4. Pingback: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels – 15/05/2014 | Theatre Therapy

  5. Pingback: Wicked – 17/05/2014 | Theatre Therapy

  6. Pingback: Billy Elliot – 23/05/2014 | Theatre Therapy

  7. Pingback: Jersey Boys – 24/05/2014 | Theatre Therapy

Leave a Reply

