Scott Alan at the Hippodome

I have been trying to write this post for almost a week now, and I’ve decided I’m not going to blog the shows. What I experienced over those four days at The Hippodrome simply cannot be put into words – the thing about Scott Alan’s music is that it is subjective. Every person in that room connected to different songs for different reasons and, while I could reduce the concerts to a clinical list of performers and the songs they sang, that would be a gross injustice.

Every performer put their heart and soul into their song and many were reduced to tears. There was a point in the third show where Scott asked everyone to put down their cameras and recording devices and just experience the moment, and that is what I’m doing now. What I experienced over those four days was cathartic and magical and private, and if you weren’t there then you can’t possibly understand and I definitely don’t have the skill to translate those feelings into words. It just wouldn’t feel right to broadcast the pain, joy and emotion that every single person in that room experienced, whether they went to one concert or all four. It’s not fair to the audience, the performers or to Scott himself – it would feel like a betrayal. I do, however, want to thank Scott Alan for sharing his music and his heart and for a truly unforgettable experience.

If you are still curious about the concerts then West End Frame has done a photo featureΒ and you can also follow the photographer Darren Bell on Twitter or visit his website http://www.darren-bell.co.uk.

8 thoughts on “Scott Alan at the Hippodome

  1. This piece is as beautifully written as Scott’s songs are. It makes me a little green that I wasn’t there but so happy to know what a profound experience you had. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

  2. WOW! I agree! I think THIS is probably your best piece ever written!
    I loved it so much it made me want to be with you at this concert πŸ™‚
    Very good job, sweetheart!
    Keep up with it πŸ˜‰
    xxxxxxx

    PS: Can’t wait to finally meet you in person this summer πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

