Times are a changin’!

Ok so, while I have five minutes to sit down and chill I thought I’d keep you all updated on what’s been going on over the past couple of weeks.

Firstly, I recently got the keys to my very own flat! As I’ve mentioned before I’m starting a Professional Writing course in September at North West Kent College (read the full blog here). The course is perfect, the course director rang me personally to offer me a place and I will (hopefully) graduate with a foundation degree in two years time. It’s all amazing. There’s just one problem – I currently live in Bacup, Lancashire, which is roughly 250 miles away. That’s one hell of a commute. So, as of Sunday the 15th of June, I will be living in Chatham, Kent which is about 30 minutes away from the college and 45 minutes away from London. Basically, it’s perfect for me. I’ve had a great time ordering furniture (I am a flat-pack genius) and I can’t wait to get down there and put my own stamp on it.

That in itself is a lot to get used to, but I also recently had a call from a recruitment officer at PGL offering me a summer job as an Activity Instructor. Believe it or not I absolutely adore outdoor sports and I have been applying regularly to PGL since April 2012 – I’m still in a state of shock!

For twelve weeks I will be based at their Marchants Hill base in Surrey teaching archery and supervising children on low level rope courses – after I’ve learned how to do it myself that is! My contract takes me right up to the start of college and, whilst it’s a bummer that I won’t be in my new flat for another 12 weeks, the job will provide invaluable experience as well as an added bonus free food and accommodation.

I will also be working towards both a Level 2 Certificate in Introductory Work in the Outdoors and a Level 2 Certificate in Hospitality and Operational Support. I have the option of going back to PGL at a later date to finish these qualifications and even work towards an Intermediate Apprenticeship in various areas including Sport and Recreation, Customer Service, Business Administration and Hospitality, so this really is a once in a lifetime opportunity that I’d be crazy to turn down.

As you can tell I’m going to be pretty busy over the next 12 weeks and so I won’t have much time for the theatre, but I’m going to try and get to London as often as I can (contract, funds and energy permitting!) I’m definitely attending West End Live on the 21st/22nd of June  and I am also seeing John Owen Jones at the Hippodrome that weekend so I’m not going cold turkey!

I’m really excited about the next few months and I am really looking forward to resuming my theatre blogging in September.

Alison x

 

My job for the next 12 weeks!

My job for the next 12 weeks!

 

10443496_10152467163126764_3107318569173675847_n (1)

Made my mark on my new flat!

2 thoughts on “Times are a changin’!

  1. I’m so happy to hear about all these great news, lovely! You deserve it so much !!! Big congratulations xxxx
    PS: Can’t wait to see u in London this summer 🙂

  2. Pingback: Busy busy busy! | Theatre Therapy

Leave a Reply

